All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:26 pm 
Active Participant
Active Participant

Given: 14 thanks
Received: 37 thanks
Bike(s): Norco Range, Dawes SS 29er
Favorite Trails: Iron Mtn, ATT, Ted Will
To date I've been an all mountain rider on a 42lb 6" full suspension bike.

However, I'm now interested in reaching out and augmenting my riding with something that presents a very different challenge. I'd like to get a 29" SS bike. I'm not looking to spend much (~$400). I don't need (and can't afford) the latest, lightest gear either.

At this point, I think my ideal would be a 29" bike with a decent 4" suspension fork, but that could change depending on the feedback I get from you who are experienced on a SS.

Any suggestions? I have no experience on a SS, but I think I could really get into it.

More specifically: Should I buy a frame and build it up? A complete used bike? What frames a good deal but not going fail prematurely? etc

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:25 pm 
Moderately Obsessed
Moderately Obsessed

Given: 2093 thanks
Received: 1460 thanks
Bike(s): Sirens: Song and John Henry
Favorite Trails: Cuyamaca
I doubt you will get a 4" suspension fork at that price point. That's about retail on the fork alone.

I would look for a steel frame rigid 29er that fits you. They are all quite similar. There are different chain tensioner methods used for SS, with desirability in this order (my preference only):
1- Paragon sliders. Bullet proof. But usually only on high-end bikes which will be around $1K used.
2- EBB - tend to be squeaky and requires some maintenence. This is what I have.
3- Horizontal dropouts. You will need external nut tuggers to keep the rear wheel in place
4- Vertical dropouts. Requires a derailleur type of chain tensioner.

I would pick steel over Alu any day. Alu hardtails are brutal on your spine.

Good luck! Cruise craigs list for a few weeks and you should find something.