PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:25 pm 
Lurker
Lurker

Given: 0 thanks
Received: 15 thanks
Bike(s): watershoes
Favorite Trails: Del Mar Mesa
Hi All,

I'm not a biker, but some of you may have run into me in on Del Mar Mesa or in the Tunnels. I'm the guy who's out there hiking, picking up trash and weeding. I'm doing this as a volunteer for the City, not because I have community service hours to work out, but because I'm a botanist and ecologist, and I love that area. The only reason I do it officially is so that I don't get busted for trespassing. I've been cleaning and weeding in that area for most of two years.

The most important point is that I like almost all the mountain bikers I've talked to. I appreciate most of the paths you've created, and I appreciate you slowing down when you see me. Feel free to stop and say hi if you see me.

The thing I'm concerned about is the number of bicycle tire tracks I'm seeing in vernal pools and even more in the wet mud on their margins, both inside and outside CDFG and USFWS areas. As most of you know, this traffic hurts endangered species, and not just "the tadpoles" that I've heard that some bikers try to avoid. Those pools are whole miniature ecosystems, and they can be trashed by a single rider going through at the wrong time.

There are two bigger issues here. One is that the City of San Diego is working on their Vernal Pool Habitat Conservation Plan again. The biggest area of vernal pools in the city's is (you guessed it) Del Mar Mesa. It doesn't do any of us (environmentalists or trail users) any good to have so much bike traffic in, around, and through so many of the pools.

Yes, I know you didn't do it. Somebody did though, and I'm trying to figure out how to reach those people, and educate them about why avoiding the pools is so important.